• 市场方案
  • 技术解决方案
  • 设计和服务
  • 新闻和活动
  • 技术资料和文档
  • 关于我们
  • 更多
Environmental Sustainability, Employee Health and Safety

环境可持续性、员工健康和安全

我们对于生态效率的承诺

格芯在晶圆制造运营中极其注重生态效率。我们将生态效率定义为在达到格芯严格标准,并满足客户的性能和产品质量标准的前提下,对资源的最优化利用。

可持续性制造:高生产率和低影响

半导体的制造运营必须非常高效且极其灵活,能够为快节奏和要求苛刻的市场提供最佳的结果。我们致力于提供差异化的制造服务,兼顾速度、准确性和灵活性,确保客户始终能够及时获得最合适的技术,满足甚至超出客户对于品质和可靠性的要求。

以越来越小的几何尺寸生产先进的集成电路需要严格的制造工艺。随着集成电路线宽的缩小以及产品复杂度的提高,制造步骤的数量开始增多,每个晶片的资源使用强度也越来越高。只有充分利用这些资源,我们自己的制造能力和客户的产品才能保持可持续的发展。

对员工的承诺

环境、健康和安全 (EHS) 是格芯的重中之重。我们实施严格一致的 EHS 政策、标准、管理系统、指标、外部报告以及合规性保证。所有这一切都旨在优化环境保护,以此捍卫格芯员工的健康、安全与福利,并确保我们能够实现法规合规。

目标和表现

2016 年初,我们重新定义了资源节约目标,以适应 2015 年格芯由于收购在公司结构上产生的重大变化(收购 IBM 的微电子部门,包括位于佛蒙特州伯灵顿的 Fab 9 晶圆厂和纽约州东菲茨基尔的 Fab 10 晶圆厂)。

2016 年,我们为旗下的全球制造厂确定了资源节约项目。该项目计划于 2016 年至 2018 年实施,目标是减少水电消耗、温室气体排放、化学品消耗及废物的产生。我们已经将这些项目的年度总缩减额目标转换为截至 2018 年底的目标:

  • 用电量减少 48 千兆瓦时 (GWh);
  • 用水量减少 370 万立方米 (m3);
  • 温室气体排放量减少 14,600 公吨等量碳排放 (MTCE);
  • 化学品使用量和废物产生量减少共 11,000 吨。

由于标准化比率会受到技术组合和晶圆厂活动水平(负荷)变化的影响,通过实现我们的资源节约目标,预计会在 2018 年底前产生以下标准化消耗量或排放率的下降:

  • 标准化用电量减少 18%*;
  • 标准化用水量减少 32%*;
  • 标准化温室气体排放量减少 20%*

* 与我们的新基线进行对比:合并运营的前 12 个月(2015 年 7 月至 2016 年 6 月)。

此外,我们还将维持 2016 年的目标,即回收和再利用公司内产生的至少 55% 的危险废物,并将这一目标继续应用于 2017 年的运营。

下列一组图片显示了我们 2016 年各项绩效指标相对于基准水平的绩效数据。

温室气体排放:

2016 年,温室气体排放绝对总量相较基准值下降了 4%。直接(范围 1)温室气体排放量相较基准值下降了 7%,而间接(范围 2)温室气体排放量在 2016 年基本持平。2016 年,标准化温室气体排放量相较基准下降了 12%。

GHG Emissions

用电量:

在 2016 年,虽然绝对用电量与基准值相比持平,但标准化用电量相较基准水平下降了 8%。

Electricity Usage

用水量:

在 2016 年,绝对用水量略有增长,相较基准值上涨了 1%。如果将 2016 年的标准化用水量与基准水平进行比较,结果显示下降了 7%。

Water Usage

危险废物:

我们 2016 年的目标是实现 55% 以上的危险废物回收和再利用率。在 2016 年产生的危险废物中,约有 61%(包括副产品的回收和再利用)获得回收或再利用。因此,我们实现了 2016 年的目标,实现了超过 55% 的回收和再利用率。

Hazardous Waste Goal

EHS 合规性:

通过遵循我们的“全球环境、健康和安全”(EHS) 政策,我们以“超越合规性”为己任,努力超额完成相关法规的要求。我们实施严格一致的 EHS 标准、管理系统、指标、外部报告以及合规性保证项目。

以上这些措施旨在通过环境保护,捍卫格芯员工、承包商和社区的健康、安全与福利,并确保我们能够满足或超过法律合规要求。作为 EHS 管理系统的一部分,我们的制造厂会执行内部审查,并由监管机构定期检查。

2016 年,凭借我们在全球各地工厂进行的检查和定期的合规性报告,发现了两次违规通报 (NOV)。所有问题已得到改正,相关监管机构表示对整改结果满意。两次违规通报都没有造成任何罚款。

回到顶部

• Market Solutions
  • Technology Solutions
  • Design & Services
  • News & Events
  • Tech Resources
  • About Us
  • More
Environmental Sustainability, Employee Health and Safety

Environmental Sustainability, Employee Health and Safety

Our Commitment to Eco-Efficiency

GLOBALFOUNDRIES is committed to eco-efficiency in foundry operations. We define eco-efficiency as the optimization of resources to yield products meeting stringent GLOBALFOUNDRIES and customer performance and quality criteria.

Sustainable Manufacturing: High Productivity with Low Impact

Semiconductor manufacturing operations must be both highly efficient and extremely flexible to deliver optimal results in a fast paced and demanding market. We are committed to providing differentiated manufacturing services that value speed, accuracy, and agility, to help ensure that our customers are consistently provided with the right technologies at the right time that meet or exceed their specifications for quality and reliability.

Producing advanced integrated circuits at ever-smaller geometries requires exacting manufacturing processes. As integrated circuit line widths shrink and products become more complex, so too does the number of manufacturing steps and intensity of resource use per wafer. Getting the most from those resources is fundamental to the sustainability of our manufacturing and our customers’ products.

Commitment to Our Employees

Environmental, Health and Safety (EHS) is a top priority at GLOBALFOUNDRIES. We implement consistent and rigorous EHS policies, standards, management systems, metrics, external reporting, and compliance assurance, all designed to optimize environmental protection, protect employee safety, health and well-being, and ensure regulatory compliance.

Goals and Performance

In early 2016, we have redefined our resource conservation goals to accommodate the significant change in our company structure in 2015 with the acquisition of IBM’s Microelectronic Division, including the two manufacturing facilities now known as Fab 9 in Burlington, VT and Fab 10 in East Fishkill, NY.

In 2016 we identified resource conservation projects across our global manufacturing sites which are scheduled for implementation from 2016 through 2018 to reduce consumption of electricity and water, greenhouse gas emissions, chemical consumption and waste generation. We have translated the planned aggregated annual savings of these projects into the following year-end 2018 goals:

  • Reduce electricity use by 48 gigawatt hours (GWh);
  • Reduce water use by 3.7 million cubic meters (m3);
  • Reduce GHG emissions by 14,600 metric tons carbon equivalent (MTCE); and
  • Reduce chemical use and waste generation by a combined 11,000 tons.

Noting that normalized rates are affected by changes in technology mix and the level of fab activity (loading), achieving our resource conservation goals are projected to lead to the following reductions in normalized consumption or emission rates by the end of 2018:

  • 18 percent reduction of normalized electricity consumption*;
  • 32 percent reduction of normalized water consumption*;
  • 20 percent reduction of normalized greenhouse gas emissions.*

*As compared to our new baseline: the first 12 months of our combined operations (July 2015 – June 2016).

Additionally, we have maintained our 2016 goal to recycle and reuse at least 55 percent of hazardous waste generated across the company, applying it toour 2017 operations.

The graphs below show our 2016 performance data for each of these performance indicators relative to the applicable baseline levels.

GHG Emissions:

Absolute total GHG emissions decreased by 4 percent in 2016 relative to the baseline value. Direct (Scope 1) GHG emissions decreased by 7 percent compared to the baseline, while indirect (Scope 2) GHG emissions in 2016 were relatively flat. Normalized 2016 GHG emissions were 12 percent lower compared to our baseline.

Electricity Usage:

While absolute consumption of electricity in 2016 was flat from the baseline value, normalized electricity usage decreased by 8 percent in 2016 compared to the baseline level.

Electricity Usage

Water Usage:

In 2016, absolute water consumption increased slightly — by 1 percent compared to the baseline value. Comparing the 2016 normalized water consumption rate to our baseline shows a decrease of 7 percent.

Water Usage

Hazardous Waste:

Our 2016 goal was to achieve a hazardous waste recycling and reuse rate above 55%. Approximately 61 percent of total hazardous waste (including byproducts beneficially recycled and reused) generated in 2016 was recycled or reused. Consequently, we met our 2016 goal to achieve a recycle and reuse rate of more than 55 percent.

Hazardous Waste Goal

EHS Compliance

Through our Global Environmental, Health and Safety policy, we are committed to a “Beyond Compliance” approach, seeking to exceed the requirements of applicable regulations. We implement consistent and rigorous EHS standards, management systems, metrics, external reporting, and compliance assurance programs.

These are designed to protect the environment; to protect the safety, health and well-being of our employees, contractors and communities; and to ensure that we meet or exceed regulatory compliance requirements. Our manufacturing sites perform internal reviews as part of their EHS Management Systems and are routinely inspected by regulatory authorities.

In 2016, inspections and regular compliance reporting across our global locations resulted in two notices of violation (NOVs). All issues were corrected to the satisfaction of the respective regulatory authorities, and neither of the two NOVs resulted in financial penalties.

Back to Top